Step by Step

My aunt once said of me, “Give that girl a computer and a deserted island, and she’d be in heaven.”

She’s right. I’m not much of a people person, that is to say, I don’t socialize. I don’t enjoy socializing, I don’t go looking for new people in my life. I’m very content to sit at my computer and spend weeks on end not having to talk to another human being.

 

Over Valentine’s weekend, I stepped out of my comfort zone and into the real world. Starting with airport security. I’ve heard all the horror stories about the “new and safer” security. I had no problem other than they confiscated my unopened Mountain Dew because it was over 3oz of fluid. Are you aware that all airports, at least ones in the south, only sell Coke products?

I then stepped on the smallest plane I’ve ever been on in my life. I’m slightly claustrophobic and it took a good talk to myself to keep me in the seat. Once the plane started down the taxi lane, I remembered why I loved to fly. All that speed then floating in the air with occasional light-headed moments, better than any drug I tried in my younger days.

Then I had to meet a group of people I have only spoken to over email and messengers. People whom I admire and had looked forward to meeting for months as our Valentine’s weekend book signing was planned. Still that fear of, “Will they like me?” comes out. Each person took me as me, thankfully.

The next step was to stand in front of people and read. While I enjoy reading, doing so for others is not on my list of pleasures. After the first round of reading though, I was feeling better about the experience and now look forward to doing it again. I even mustered up my outgoing side and spoke to people rather than waiting for them to speak to me. I fed off the other authors around me for this and thank them all for supporting me.

The hardest step, I didn’t have to make. My sister had to leave me at my gate and get to hers. She took that step and I missed her instantly.

Each step was small, leaving a large impact on me. So I’d like to encourage everyone to take that first step outside their comfort zone and share the step by step moments.

Suzette Vaughn, Author of Badeaux Knights and Mortals, Gods, and a Muse

5 Comments

Filed under books, life

5 responses to “Step by Step

  1. sandysays1

    Gosh, my human loves BkSgngs because of the feedback he gets and the exchange of info. He’s a people person (as well as a dog lover) so he loves the opportunity. But he knows and speaks of reading apprehension. Says it’s always tough to start. Visit me at http://www.SandySays1.wordpress.com for a dog’s eye view of the world (and some laughs)

  2. Wow, you did step out, didn’t you? I’ve always wondered what it would be like to meet up with those whom I’ve befriended over the internet. You know, like, critique group members, bloggers, FaceBook friends.

    Great post!

  3. I loved the feedback. That was a huge plus.
    I’ve yet to hear anything horrible about signings, doesn’t mean the fear isn’t there.
    I think it’s safe to say the entire group had a blast. I’ve never laughed that much, but that’s what happens when you get too many story tellers in a room all with overly vivid imaginations. I can’t wait until I get to do it again.

  4. We also have pictures up and more going up tonight on our events page…

    http://www.secondwindpublishing.com/Events.html

  5. It was a wonderful weekend and a sad parting.

Leave a Reply

