Writing Dialogue

Regardless of the genre, there comes a time when characters have to talk. For some authors this is a challenge. How do you make the characters sound different? Where do you put the actions? Does it sound real? What would this character say? How would the other respond?

Dialogue is important to a story. Making it sound realistic isn’t easy. One thing I do that helps me is trying to think like the characters. There is an easy exercise for this which I’ll go into at the end of this article.

Next, keep it simple. Don’t try to go all Shakespeare and make flowery speeches or say something relevant – unless that’s what the character is trying to do. Here again, character centered.

Make sure the dialogue advances the story. Don’t just throw in some witty repartee for the sake of having them say something cute or funny. That’s for cheesy action flicks. If the characters would use this time for that, fine. Otherwise, leave it out.

Keep the passages short. Again, we aren’t doing Shakespearian soliloquies. There are other ways to express a character’s thoughts. Use his actions or her facial expressions to express what they are thinking. A well placed raised eyebrow can be quite eloquent.

Many writers have trouble with simultaneous action and dialogue. Juggling this can get tricky. Rule of thumb, at least as far as I’m concerned, is keep relevant segments together. Don’t split the sentence unless it’s absolutely unavoidable. Put actions before or after the dialogue, but keep these passages short. Longer, more detailed action needs to be in its own paragraph. When the characters are talking, that’s the focus. They wouldn’t be talking if they didn’t have something important to say. Let the dialogue stand out on the page, dominating it.

Having a few simple guidelines can take the sting out of dialogue. To help get into the character’s head, try asking yourself the following questions:

 

  • What is the character’s age?

  • What is the gender? Men & women don’t think alike nor do they speak alike.

  • What is his/ her occupation? Is there a level of technical language he/ she would understand or not?

  • What is his/ her education level? A person who is widely read has a better vocabulary than someone who never finished school.

  • Culture or ethnicity – is it important to his/ her characterization? A foreigner in a strange land will not communicate the same way as a native.

  • Does he/ she speak the same language? It’s very important to have this in mind before you start. If a character has minimal French, having him speak fluently in that language wouldn’t ring true.

  • Character’s health. A weak man will speak differently from a strong one.

  • Urgency of the situation. A character will not stop and give a long speech about how important this mission is if he’s being attacked by rabid wildebeests. Pacing is a must in dialogue.

  • Relevant to the situation. Would he actually say something that incredibly stupid when in the throes of passion? Would she have enough where with all to bellow that when under attack?

 

Finally, read the dialogue aloud. If it flows with the descriptions, you’ve done it well. If it doesn’t, look at it again and see what can be changed.

The above are my opinions and techniques for writing good dialogue. Do you have any tips for others? Do you have trouble with dialogue and would like other techniques? I am always interested in learning new ways to conquer a problem. Please post your tips and problems below.

 Dellani Oakes is the author of “Indian Summer” available from Second Wind Publishing.

25 Comments

Filed under writing

25 responses to “Writing Dialogue

  1. Margay

    One thing that people consistently comment upon when they read my work is the dialogue. So far, it is getting positive comments, so I want to share a little trick I use:

    Write it out in screenplay format first. When all you see is dialogue on the page, you really get a good idea of what should be left in, what needs to be edited, etc.

    Another thing I do is watch movies and television shows with dialogue I admire. If you like snappy, rapid fire dialogue, there is none better than that on the Gilmore Girls. Absolutely amazing stuff!

    Margay

    • Good suggestions, Margay! I like snappy dialogue too. One of my favorite characters is Sawyer from “Lost” he has amazingly witty, sarcastic comments & pops them in when least expected. More than just a ‘pretty face’, Josh Holloway has great timing and delivery.

      One show that has great dialogue is “Firefly” and the movie “Serenity” by Joss Whedon.

  2. Margay

    Oo, I love Lost! And Grey’s Anatomy is good, too. I haven’t seen the other two shows you mentioned.
    Margay

    • dellanioakes

      Margay, “Firefly” is a short lived series that was on Sci-Fi channel a few years ago. The movie “Serenity” is a spinoff from the show. If you have a chance to get it from Netflix (etc.) it’s worth watching.

      Oh, another excellent show for dialogue is “Farscape” another Sci-Fi show. Got to love John Crichton! Ben Browder (now on Stargate) is another one with excellent one liners.

  3. The same “rules” apply even more so for the dramatic monologue, one of my favourite forms of poetry with Roberty Browning its master.
    Good to have a skilled practitioner of the dramatic monologue form in the UK’s fresh face as Poet Laureate, Carol Ann Duffy – her monologues of wives of famous men is extremely witty.
    Oh, and you know me better on FB as Christopher James Heyworth – my WordPress persona was an early experiment amost in a past life!

    • dellanioakes

      Christopher, was it a failure or a success?

      • I used the alias chiefly on a UK site called My Telegraph. Everything went quite well until a determined bunch of “flamers” decided to inundate the site with filth and insults, and the moderators seemed incapable of ridding the site of such scum. A Canadian joined very briefly and advised me to come over to Facebook which I continue to enjoy immensely. I do not have either the perseverance nor the originality to operate my own blogsite via WordPress – I like talking to other people too much, and am fascinated by ideas from all over the globe.

  4. Craig Faustus Buck

    Coming from a screenwriting bg, I hear dialogue in my head and just transcribe it to the page. If my characters are clear to me, their dialogue will be organic to my story.

    This practice does have its dangers, though. It can lead to something that drives some people nuts (but it works for me). If a character has a thick accent, I’ll write it phonetically, the way I hear it in my head.

    Here’s an example from my WIP. A born-again aging rock star from Kentucky, whose wife/lead singer was murdered 20 years ago, has called a writer in the middle of the night to come out and meet a French seamstress who was the murder victim’s best friend. The writer is working on a 20-year retrospective piece on the murder.

    “We was just talkin’ up the old days,” Billy says. “Sweet Lordy, I’ve known Claudine what? Thirty years? Forty years?”
    “Twenty seex. We met on ze Bairleen tour, remembair?”
    “Oh yeah. Damn Wall was still up. Lana hired Claudine as a personal assistant, stole her away from Stevie Nicks who still holds a grudge, if you can believe ‘at. Man was she pissed. Lord have mercy.”
    “So you and Lana were close?” I ask.
    “Until ze day she died.”
    “They was best friends, man. Why in God’s name you think I hauled your ass outa bed?
    “To be honest, I don’t have a clue.”
    “Do I look like the kinda jerkoff trusts cops? I’m betting on you to crack this thang. I want the sumbitch caught, man.”
    “Okay.” My coffee comes but it’s too hot to drink.
    “So we was in the Lounge and she tells me this fuckin’ shit and I figure it might be sump’in. So here you are.”
    “What shit?”
    “It seems that dear sweet fuckin’ Lana, Lord forgive me, was having a goddamn affair on me ‘fore she died, may she Requiescat in Pace.”
    I’ve never heard Latin spoken with a Kentucky twang before. For all I know, that’s how the Romans sounded.
    “I sought he knew,” says Claudine, “or I wouldn’t have told heem.”

    It’s always a struggle to balance what I hear with readability but the process is fun and certainly differentiates my characters. Of course I don’t do it with every character, just a few.

    A few other dialogue differentiating factors I’ll use:

    Sense of humor
    Level of formality
    Education and the extent to which they show it off
    Optimist v. pessimist
    Grammar
    Breadth of vocabulary
    Professional or recreational interests (jargon)
    Submissive v. dominating
    Religious beliefs
    Cultural influences and references
    Health issues
    Childhood issues
    Emotional volatility
    Problem-solving tendencies

    • dellanioakes

      Excellent post, thank you! I think you’ve listed some great considerations. I like the dialogue, it doesn’t bother me. I found it very readable.

      I also come from a script writing background. My first degree is Theatre & Dance. I took a play writing class one semester and loved it. Thus, my stories come out “dialogue heavy”. It bothers some people, but it works best for me. The story is about the characters, I can bring them alive in the way they speak.

      There is a tendency with some authors to make everyone sound alike. I like the way you spice it up. Thanks, Craig!

  5. Hi Dellani,

    Enjoyed your article on Writing Dialogue. Even after years of writing it’s good to refresh.
    Thanks, Dellani.

    Sincerely
    Jan

  6. I think what surrounds the dialogue can’t be separated. Sometimes you have to spell things out. Let’s say you ask someone to critique something you just wrote. Could happen that the reader will think your dialogue isn’t “right” because they are not familiar with the situation or the type of person you wrote about. Or maybe even the genre of the book/story? Perhaps that is the time to add more to either the dialogue or surrounding elements so that the dialogue rings true.

    • dellanioakes

      I agree with you, Mickey. Some things do need to stay with it. I leave the important actions with the dialogue, but the rest I separate. I hate losing what people say in the midst of all the action.

  7. Awesome post! I’ll be sure to pass this to some of my Author friends, thanks for sharing!

  8. Joss Whedon always writes amazing dialogue in every show he’s done!

    I’m with you, Dellani, I love Sawyer’s wit. 🙂

    I don’t usually have any problems with my characters’ dialogue. Getting them to shut up, OTOH is always a challenge… *G*

  9. Great tips, Dellani. I also like to have characters write me letters to develop their way of speaking. This also helps develop the characters themselves. Besides, it’s a lot of fun.

    • dellanioakes

      That’s a great idea! I’ve used a set of questions given to me by Pat Bertram to help me get into a character’s head. I’ve found it a big help too. Thanks for coming by, Velda!

  10. Writing dialogue is one of my strengths.
    The key to writing believable dialogue no matter the context or subtext, only occurs when the writer completely understands their characters well enough to get inside their heads so that the dialogue is convincing. Otherwise, it is not that easy to grab and hold the readers attention!

    • dellanioakes

      I agree, Kimberly. That’s decidedly key to any writing, but dialogue in particular. I hate books where the author makes all the characters talk alike. I really don’t think a serf will speak as well as a lord….

  11. Sawyer from Lost is great! (I’m still a season behind though, so don’t tell me what’s going on…) And Firefly has great dialogue. I like your advice; stirring too much action into the dialogue just leaves me confused. And reading aloud really helps.

  12. dellanioakes

    Sheila, I watch Lost on discs from Netflix, so I’m a season behind too. No spoilers please!

    Yes, reading aloud is a wonderful help. If it’s confusing or choppy, that makes all the difference. My husband gets read to a lot. Thank goodness he likes it!

  13. Thanks Dellani. I have problems with dialogue in my children’s books. I try to remember the age reading and saying the words.

    April Robins

    • dellanioakes

      I think dialogue for children would be difficult. I can remember reading the “Fun with Dick & Jane” books – those are HORRIBLE! However, I know yours are better!

      There’s a fine line between what’s easy enough and what’s stupid. I developed a nervous twitch because of those Dick & Jane books. I am NOT kidding!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.