It’s Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving can be taken so many ways:

 1)                  A day to be truly thankful for the blessings you have received;

2)                  A day off work, before a second day off work (a/k/a Black Friday), which leads into a weekend – thus a 4 day weekend;

3)                  A day to eat as much as you want and worry about the calories tomorrow;

4)                  Football;

5)                  Family and friends. A day to get together and enjoy the company of your loved ones;

6)                  Parades;

7)                  A day of rest before waking at 3:00 a.m. to participate in Black Friday shopping.

 So, what will I be doing this Thanksgiving? Well, I will cook a few things and then head to my mother’s where the rest of my family will eventually gather.  What I won’t be doing is writing. It is a day off to be with my loved ones and a day to be thankful and a day to eat. That would be 1, 3 and 5 of the above. 

This year I have a ton of things to be thankful for.  Always at the top of my list is my family. I have a wonderful husband and three terrific kids. I was blessed with awesome parents, and the best brother and sister anyone could ask for. Then, there are their children and so forth. I have a fantastic family and I hope you are blessed with any equally wonderful family.

I have roof over my head, food in my kitchen, and some really great friends.  My first book was published this year, Loving Lydia, with a second one due out soon, Pure is the Heart.

I am sure I have a lot more to be thankful for but they are not coming to me at the moment.  What about you? What does Thanksgiving mean to you? Is it one of the seven above, or something else entirely different?

If you are around tomorrow, join me at http://amydetrempe.blogspot.com where I will be interviewing Mike Simpson, owner and founder of Second Wind Publishing.

7 Comments

Filed under writing

7 responses to “It’s Thanksgiving

  1. gail

    Happy Thanksgiving! I’m thankful for all of the above plus great crit partners and writing friends.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you!! I will be cooking the turkey this year…along with the potatoes, dressing, and gravy. Everyone is gathering at my house (groans), and I just hope they’re gone within an hour and half. I love my inlaws, but… Well, you all know what I mean, right? I will have a four day weekend since I work a regular day job, and I’m exciting to have so many days to write. (grins)

    ~Phyllis~

  3. Great post, Amy! And Happy Turkey Day!

    Thanksgiving always means a little something different to me…rarely are two Thanksgivings alike. My HUGE extended family on my mom’s side has a reunion on Turkey Day every year – she has 9 brothers and sisters and when everyone gets together, there are about 120 of us. Sadly, the reunion is in Iowa, so we’ve only made it back once in 10 years. Other years we go to Eric’s family in CT. But this year we’re staying put in Jersey City. We had our gays over for a sleepover last night and parade watching this morning. This afternoon, I will make the traditional Thanksgiving feast for 3 (Eric and I each count as one…Bella and Dr. Snuggle count as halves. LOL!)

    What it means for me is a day of lots of eating, no matter where I am. A day to relax, watch TV specials (Charlie Brown!!!). A day to get the tree put up and to prepare for the next day’s shopping fest! And to of course be thankful for my friends, family and many many blessings in my life! :)

  4. I wish everyone at Second Wind a very happy Thanksgiving. We all have much to be thankful for.

  5. samanthagrace

    I’m thankful for each day I’m given with my family and friends. I’m grateful that I’m reaching a place in my life where a lot of the “shoulds” are replaced with “might be nice” or simply “nos”.

  6. Hmmm, when I started to type here my Chinese keyboard popped up. I wonder if that was some sort of message, but I can’t decide what. Anyhow,

    Happy Thanksgiving to all and thanks to everyone at Second Wind for your help and for putting up with me.

    And, a side note. Yesterday I was sitting in a chair with my huge pet cat on my lap and I thought how amazing a cat really is, what a gift it is just to be around something as miraculous as an animal and how glad I am to be able to enjoy our planet every single day. I guess that old “stop and smell the roses” saying isn’t so tacky after all.

  7. christinehusom

    I am thankful every day for how truly blessed I have been on so many levels. First, I am grateful I was born in the United States where we value our freedoms. I have the best family, friends and support in the world!

Leave a Reply

