Contest done!

I’ve started a new project this month–a solo project I’ve been thinking about for a long time.

My goal is to have a rough draft done by March 31. I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it, but I’m certainly going to try. I’ve forgotten about the hard work it takes to write a novel on my own. The writing Eric Beetner and I did was so effortless it seems almost unreal to me now. Was it really that easy?

I remember the hard stuff about writing my first book –the agony I felt when hurting a character, the uncertainty about whether a scene would work in the novel or not. But there were those sweet spots too–the writer’s zone–where the book becomes something living and breathing and practically writes itself. When that hits it’s like a drug or something and I’m a machine channeling characters that are done with me-the mad scientist who created them- and want to tell their stories in their own way.

It’s a schizophrenic feeling of pride and concern that I’ve gone completely mad–but the exhilaration is the best part. In the zone I’m unstoppable; nothing but the loss of all my fingers would keep me from putting words on the page.

I’m in the midst of January’s Book-in-a-Week challenge right now. My goal: 100 pages. So far I’m at 64 pages. My final count is due Monday by 8:00 am. I don’t know if I’ll make it or not. At this point I don’t care. I’ve hit the sweet spot twice this week and it’s the best feeling in the world. For ten pages I became an observer in a world where events unfolded around me and I was nothing more than a stenographer recording actions as they happened, conversations as they occured.

What a rush.

On another note, I want to let you know about the winners of my contest: Write a 500 word story of redemption.

First place winner is J. Conrad Guest. He’ll be a guest on my blog, Toeing and Typing the Line on Monday.

Second place winner is Elizabeth Sweetman. She’ll be blogging on Wednesday of next week.

Both entries are posted on my blog now for your reading pleasure!

JB Kohl

3 Comments

Filed under writing

3 responses to “Contest done!

  1. Lucy Balch

    You describe that sweet spot so well. It’s what keeps me writing.
    Congrats J. Conrad and Elizabeth!

  2. christinehusom

    A wonderful goal. I surely hope you make it. I need to be there with you, to get this next book done and out there. Congrats and wishing you success!

  3. Great about your solo effort. So true about reaching the point where the novel begins to write itself. I’m sure you will get there.

Leave a Reply

