Water Lily by Sherrie Hansen – Coming Soon!

Some of you know that I’m been busy at work on my next release, Water Lily, targeted for publication in early summer of this year. Water Lily is the 2nd in my Maple Valley trilogy, which began with Stormy Weather, published late last year by Second Wind Publishing.

(Summer will sneak up on you faster than you think – if you haven’t read Stormy Weather yet, get your copy now, so you will be up to date on the Jones sisters’ escapades when Water Lily is released!)

I’m currently deep into editing Water Lily – the next step is to read the book out loud to my husband, a process that will no doubt reveal rough patches, discombobulated sentences, and little errors previously unnoticed.

Like Stormy Weather, the cover of Water Lily will have a photo on the top, and a quilt block on the bottom. Marianne R. , a friend from Gather.com, has graciously consented to let me use one of her water lily photos on the cover of the book (I am so excited!), and I am now in search of a water lily quilt to photograph. If I don’t find one soon, I will have to make one, and photograph it. (Much as I love to quilt, I have so little time right now that I’m hoping NOT to have to make it myself…) Then it’s off to Second Wind’s talented graphic artists to make it into an eye-catching cover.

(Just as I was about to post this blog, I received word that the very talented quilter, Jan Krentz, has granted permission for me to use an image from her Monet Water Lily quilt, from her book, Diamond Quilts & Beyond: From the Basics to Dazzling Designs, published by C&T Publishing, on the front cover of my book! I’m so excited! It will look wonderful with Marianne’s photo. I can’t wait to see how Stacy puts it all together.)

You can see her lovely water lily quilt here.

Now that that is settled, I need some help.

Yesterday, I wrote my first draft of a back cover “blurb” for Water Lily. I’m hoping you’ll give me your feedback. Does it sound appealing? Does it make you want to buy / read the book? If not, I would welcome your suggestions as to how to make it better.

Thanks in advance!

Tag Line:

Water Lily… a fresh blossom born in the murky waters of the past.

Back Cover Blurb:

Once upon a very long time ago, Jake Sheffield and Michelle Jones graduated from the same high school.

Jake can’t wait to take a trip down memory lane at their 20th class reunion. Being with his old friends is like guest starring in a favorite episode of Cheers. Everybody knows your name. Everybody’s glad you came.

The last thing Michelle wants to do is dredge up a lot of old memories and relive a part of her past that wasn’t that great in the first place.

Will the murky waters of the past destroy their dreams for the future, or will a water lily rise from the depths and bloom?

Water Lily by Sherrie Hansen… coming soon from Second Wind Publishing.

2 Comments

Filed under blogging, books, Sherrie Hansen, writing

2 responses to “Water Lily by Sherrie Hansen – Coming Soon!

  1. christinehusom

    Sounds great–I need to catch up on my reading!

  2. Lucy Balch

    Sherrie,
    I want to read it! Stormy weather, too. This summer I’m hoping to catch up on all the books I want to read.
    Good luck editing! That’s a great idea to read it aloud to your husband.

Leave a Reply

