Do you believe in Miracles?

I have always been a firm believer that miracles do occur, maybe nothing on the grand scale described in the bible, but when a miracle occurs – its size is rarely a concern, especially to the recipient.

The concept of miracles is always with me around this time of year, primarily because my oldest son’s birthday is in March.  Conception, gestation, and childbirth are pretty miraculous for a normal risk pregnancy, but when you couple the belief that you couldn’t conceive with a successful delivery following a high risk pregnancy – then the concept of the miracle of children takes on a whole new meaning.

But this blog is not about my little miracles; this blog is dedicated to Daniel, a little boy who arrived about two months earlier than expected, but is hanging in there and doing well. 

Daniel’s parents are dear friends of mine.  He doesn’t know it yet, but he has been born to parents who have waited, hoped, and prayed for him for a very long time.  His mom has wanted a baby for as long as I have known her, but for whatever reason, getting pregnant just did not seem to be in the cards.  His dad is one of those men who is a natural father and kids just gravitate to.  My kids adore them both and sometimes I think my oldest has wished he could trade in me and his dad for them.  It somehow seemed unfair that two people who would make such awesome parents weren’t able to have a baby.

When I saw the two of them at the start of her second trimester, I’m not sure who was “glowing” more – they were both so excited and euphoric I could tell what the news was before either of them could even utter the words.

So welcome to the world baby Daniel – you are in for an amazing life.

Mairead Walpole is the pen name for a somewhat introverted project and contract manager who has 20+ years of business and technical writing under her belt. In her spare time, Mairead reviews books for Crystal Reviews (www.crystalreviews.com) and writes paranormal romance. Her first novel, “A Love Out of Time” is available through Second Wind Publishing (www.secondwindpublishing.com) or Amazon.com.

2 Comments

Filed under life, Mairead Wapole

2 responses to “Do you believe in Miracles?

  1. The biggest miracles are the “natural,” – the ones no magician can even dream of creating. What a lovely welcome for a miracle child.

  2. christinehusom

    You made me cry! I have witnessed so many miracles in my life and and am so happy for your friends and their gift of Daniel.

Leave a Reply

