The Pirate’s Bastard is Sailing into Port Soon

It’s nearly here! My debut novel, The Pirate’s Bastard, will be released September 29. This colonial romp of the fictitious illegitimate son of real-life pirate Stede Bonnet took six years to research and write, and I can say with all honesty I wondered if it would ever see the light of day. I’m thankful that the fine folks at Second Wind Publishing saw merit in sharing the tale, and to my family and friends who have shared in my excitement at the story’s progress toward becoming a real book.
A few events have been set up so far to introduce The Pirate’s Bastard, including the following:
Book signing
N.C. Historic Maritime Council Annual Meeting
September 30 – October 2
New Bern, NC

Book signing
Mid-October
Page’s Bookstore, Main Street, Mount Airy

Author presentation and Book signing
Late October
Northwestern Library, Rockford Street, Mount Airy
Second Wind Publishing is also having a launch party online September 29th and 30th for new releases by Sherrie Hansen, Jerrica Knight-Catania, Christine Husom, George Wright, and me. Join us for a chance to win an e-book and other prizes. There’s a wide offering of tales at the publisher’s website, http://www.secondwindpublishing.com, too.
If you leave a comment to this post before October 6th, I’ll add your name to a random drawing for a signed copy of The Pirate’s Bastard. Thank you in advance for joining in the fun, and for spreading the word about my book!
Beyond promoting this book, big plans are in the works for the rest of the year! I have two works in progress. One is for adults, and the second is for children, to be released by Second Wind under their newest imprint, Chickpea in early 2011. I hope I’ve not spoiled the publisher’s surprise, but I’m thrilled to see the new imprint come to life. Be sure to check out my other blog, http://www.laurawharton.blogspot.com, for progress updates on both projects.

Laura S. Wharton is the author of the soon-to-be-released book, The Pirate’s Bastard. Visit her website, http://www.LauraWhartonBooks.com or her blog, laurawharton.blogspot.com for updates to her upcoming events.

Here I am, holding the proof of my book.

26 Comments

Filed under writing

26 responses to “The Pirate’s Bastard is Sailing into Port Soon

  1. Congratulations. I have a fascination with pirates so I know I will like this one.

    • laurawharton

      Thanks, Amy! It’s a fun little story. I’ve always been fascinated with pirate lore. Since I’ve lived at the coast often enough (though not now), I have heard great tales over the years.

  2. christinehusom

    You are dedicated and I hope it goes very well!

  3. sue brandes

    Congrats on your new book. Sounds like a great story.
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. Darlene Reiners

    Congratulations dear friend, we can’t wait to read this gem!

  5. Congratulations! Happy Pirates, and it’s great to know Chickpea’s really going to happen, and that you’ll have a children’s book there.

    • Thanks, Sheila! The story is a fun one full of facts and fiction. The children’s work is completely different, a mystery and a few sub plots. It was fun to write — and quite fast compared to The Pirate’s Bastard.

  6. Congratulations on your first novel!

    It sounds like a fun book. Please enter me in your contest.

  7. I look forward to any tale that is set along the NC coast.
    Best of luck with this and your children’s book.

    • Thanks, Ginnie, I love coastal anything, too. I just returned from the NC Historic Maritime Council’s annual conference in New Bern. Despite the 10 inches of rain, it was a great conference in a wonderful venue. The speakers were talking about my favorite subjects: coast, history , and boats!

  8. lorettaC

    Six years to get this book out, I bow to you. Congrats.

    loretta

    lbcanton@verizon.net

  9. avalonne83

    Great giveaway! I’d love to be entered.

    Please count me in. Thanks.

    avalonne83 [at] yahoo [dot] it

  10. MMW

    I am glad you were able to hang in there and get this book published. Congrats. I would love to win it. thanks for the giveaway.

    • I’ve had the dream of getting a novel published since I was eight. I didn’t think it would take quite as long, but … like fine wine, I suppose I had to age before I could achieve it. :-)

  11. Welcome to the Second Wind family of authors, Laura. I wish all the best for your “Pirate’s Bastard”–love the title!

  12. Congratulations! I love pirates!

  13. Just read your comment about dreaming of being published since age 8. I can certainly relate to that. Dug into my box of papers under the bed and found all sorts of delights, scrawled in fancy colored pens on random scraps of paper, and tied up with string.

Leave a Reply

