Here It Comes

So . . . this week I’ll get the proof for the latest book written by Eric Beetner and myself.  Borrowed Trouble is the sequel to One Too Many Blows To The Head.

As we were nearing completion on the half dozen read-through’s and edits, making those last minute changes that drive all writers crazy, I started to wonder if the elation of releasing a book into the world would ever hit me this time around. With my first and second published works, I was giddy with excitement. I’d never before experienced the feeling I got when I held a book in my hands that I had written.

But this time was tough. At the eleventh hour I needed to do an emergency re-write of one of my chapters. Would we get everything done on time? Could we count on getting our proofs in time for an early release? Suddenly writing seemed like a real job, complete with deadlines and responsibility and uncertainty. Was this what I signed up for?

But then I saw the trailer that Eric made and that bubble of thrill popped up in the back of my throat and a grin crept across my face. And it was a HUGE grin . . . the kind a kid gets on Christmas morning, the kind that spreads from ear to ear, the kind you get after you get the first kiss from the guy you know you’re gonna marry. It was that kind of grin.

(See the trailer here: http://vimeo.com/18075974)

I realized what a great book we’d written. It’s a book I’m proud of and one that I’ll be proud of for a long time. And I’d like to think that the sweating we did over every sentence, every chapter, was because we’re becoming better at our craft. We’re understanding what it means to take the work seriously and to constantly try to better our skills.

Borrowed Trouble

Now, with the promise of a bound book to hold in my hands this week, the elation has returned, along with a larger dose of the pride that comes from putting so much effort into something I feel to be important.

So to you, dear reader, I say this: Fasten your seatbelts and get ready for the read of your life. Borrowed Trouble is on the way.

-JB Kohl

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under books, fiction, writing

10 responses to “Here It Comes

  1. Can’t wait to acquire and read the printed version of Borrowed Trouble, J.B. So excited for you and Eric. I absolutely loved One Too Many Blows to the Head! Congratulations to both of you, and to Second Wind for publishing such talented writers.

  2. You give me hope! I’d about given up on the idea of being able to write a complete book. If these things happen to experienced writers I will just bite the bullet and continue. That big grin translated to “I want to feel that!”

  3. christinehusom

    I was very impressed with “One Too Many Blows to the Head.” You are a stellar writing team. I’ll look forward to “Borrowed Trouble”.

  4. Contratulations, JB and Eric! A great trailer.

    One Hot January is due to launch by the end of this month, so I know just what you’re going through with those last minute edits, the quest for perfection.

    It looks as if we’ll be celebrating together.

    J.

  5. Sorry for two things Jen. For missing my blog day again ( a new record!) and leaving it to you to express our feelings on the eve of our release, which you did brilliantly. And also for forcing that last minute scrapping and re-writing of the chapter. I still feel the book is better for it and I still feel guilty.

    • Eric, Eric, Eric,
      I made my blog day by the skin of my teeth! As for feeling guilty about the chapter re-write, I think the finished product speaks for itself. It was a great catch on your part and a very necessary fix. The book is great, something we can both be proud of! Here’s to a million more years of writing together!

Leave a Reply

