Soup is good

I’ve been assigned this day to blog and here it is, 5:45 a.m. on a day I have to go spend time at my non-writing job, and I have no writing ideas or thoughts to share today.

So I thought I’d share my love of soup. There is nothing so satisfying as a delicious bowl of soup with a few slices of buttered french bread. One of my favorite recipes is Mulligatawny Soup from the cookbook “Eater’s Choice,” by Dr. Ron Goor and Nancy Goor. Here’s the recipe:

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup chopped carrot

1/2 cup chopped celery

2 TBSP olive oil

1 TBSP margarine

1 1/2 TSBP flour

2 TSP Curry powder

5 cups chicken stock, or 2 cans (10 oz each) chicken broth, strained + 2 cans water

1/2 cup diced uncooked chicken

1 apple, peeled and diced

1 cup uncooked pasta (or 1/2 cup cooked long grain rice)

1/4 TSP thyme

1 TSP salt

1/4 TSP freshly ground pepper

In a soup pot, saute onion, carrot and celery in the oil and margarine until tender. Stir in flour and curry powder and cook about 1 minute. Pour in chicken stock and bring to a boil. Add chicken. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Add apple, pasta, thyme, salt, pepper and simmer for 15 minutes more.

It’s a big hit with my family, even in the summer months. The pasta is my own addition by the way. I’ve never tried it with the rice, which the original recipe calls for, but I’m sure that’s good too.

Does anyone have any good soup recipes they can share with me? I love finding new ones.

Lucy Balch

Author of Love Trumps Logic

A Regency romance from Second Wind Publishing

3 Comments

Filed under writing

3 responses to “Soup is good

  1. Writers cannot live by words alone, so thanks for the post!

  2. These days my soups have to be milk-free, meat-free and gluten-free. It’s disturbing to realize I immediately start thinking what I’d have to substitute when I look at a recipe. Sometimes my family’s just too complicated.

  3. Sounds like a great recipe. We love soup. I don’t actually have recipes I follow for them, but make a variety, mainly using chicken, sometimes beef, lots of vegetables, herbs, and either dumplings, rice, or pasta to finish it off.

Leave a Reply

