Words of Wisdom For Dreamers by Coco Ihle

We’ve all had dreams. What are yours? Have you had some fulfilled? Are you still in the process of realizing your desires?

Doggedly pursuing our dreams gives us a sense that they may come to fruition, that we may actually accomplish something in our pursuit. The more passion and determination we possess, the easier it is to move forward to our goals, and having a support system helps us emotionally and practically.

Years ago when I first started writing, I shared with friends my goal of writing a book. Some encouraged me to go for it, some said it would be too difficult, an impossible accomplishment. I chose to go for it, despite what pitfalls I might encounter. One friend in particular shared with me a poem that has been a mainstay in my quest. I don’t know the author, but I would thank him/her if I could. Here it is. I hope it will encourage you, as well.

I wish I were a could be

if I could not be an are.

For a could be is a maybe

with a chance of reaching far.

I’d rather have been a has been

than a might have been, by far.

For a might have been has never been,

while a has was once an are.

This time of year, we tend to reminisce about the past events in our lives. I’ve been thinking about the journey I’ve made to become a published author. As I look back, it hasn’t been short or easy, but it has been rewarding. Persistence through all the stumbling blocks, and even working through discouragement from time to time, has made my dream come true. My wish for you as this year comes to a close and a new one begins, is that you have a good support system, dogged determination and persistence to make your dreams come true. I think it’s worth it. I hope you do, too.

I’d love to hear any secrets you may have in fulfilling your dreams.

14 Comments

Filed under blogging, Coco Ihle, life, musings, writing

14 responses to “Words of Wisdom For Dreamers by Coco Ihle

  1. Miss Coco

    Very good words of wisdom :)

  2. Like the quirky poem of inspiration. Sounds like an adult version of Dr. Suess who, by the way, is still one of my favorites! So that makes my favorite authors him, you, Sue Grafton, Sandra Brown and David Baldacci.

  3. I don’t really have dreams, just things I’m focused on, that maybe I can make happen. As Virgil Sweet said in Talent for the Game, “Maybe is powerful stuff.”

  4. Great post today thanks. I really enjoyed reading it very much. You have an excellent blog here.

  5. Bob

    A good play on words……….we all should have goals and work very hard to achieve them. Of course, having support means so much more. Has anyone thought of how many young people are out there that don’t have the support they need to reach their goals?

  6. saradubose

    One day at a time. One word at a time. One novel at a time. Like you, I had the dream of writing a book and, by God’s grace, it happened. Congratulations to you, Coco! I also thank you for sharing this unique and helpful verse.

Leave a Reply

