Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp? by Pat Bertram

Most writers claim they write only to entertain, and yet messages do creep into our books whether we will it or not. A few messages ended up in my novels: nothing is as it seems, we are not necessarily who we think we are, history did not necessarily happen the way we think it did, and what we see is not necessarily the truth. But all that was more of a side effect. Mostly I just wanted to write good stories with good characters that I would have loved to read.

Here are some messages that crept into other books by Second Wind authors:

From an Interview with Mickey Hoffman, Author of “Deadly Traffic”

The message in Deadly Traffic is that on hot button issues like immigration, we all like to think we have a strong grip on right and wrong, but when it’s down to working reality, things are often not as easy to decide.

From an Interview with J J Dare, Author of False Positive and False World

Trust no one.

From an interview with J. Conrad Guest, Author of “January’s Thaw”

The January books are composed of a number of messages. In January’s Paradigm the reader learns that there are people in the world—men and women alike—who are not very nice, and that men don’t have a corner on the mean market. Men, too, can be hurt through a woman’s infidelity. One Hot January shows that no government is benign and that we must care about a world we will not see. While January’s Thaw is largely about redemption, that it’s never too late to close the door on the past and to live in the moment, for tomorrow.

Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp? Did a message show up inadvertently?

***

Pat Bertram is the author of Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. All Bertram’s books are available both in print and in ebook format. You can get them online at Second Wind Publishing, Amazon, B&N and Smashwords.  At Smashwords, the books are available in all ebook formats including palm reading devices, and you can download the first 20-30% free!

10 Comments

Filed under books, fiction, Pat Bertram, writing

10 responses to “Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp? by Pat Bertram

  1. I think it’s a subconscious thing with authors, weaving messages into our books. I didn’t intentionally do it with my books, and yet, there they are…

  2. Hi,
    Nice point you made here.
    It really got me thinking.
    I think there is a message in everything we do. Our actions carry a message as well as our words. I believe in messages and evaluate many aspects of my life based on them. I have had my first children’s book published this year and it totally has a message. That is the finest and most original power you have is being yourself. It’s from there that all other fantastic accomplishments spring. Oh, by the way, my book is about a lizard, Oliver the Overachiever.

  3. Rod Marsden

    There are messages sure but it is NEVER “and the lesson for today is…”. That may be okay for a five year old but it is otherwise just bad writing.

  4. Rod Marsden

    Unfortunately when we talk about subtle messages in our own work then they are no longer subtle. Sometimes I think it is best to leave well enough alone. If the reader gets it fine. If the reader just enjoys the book as an adventure story and nothing more, well, thats fine too.

  5. I think there’s usually some kind of a message–I hope there is ’cause when I review a book I’m always trying to work out what the message was.

  6. Rod Marsden

    I’m sure writers appreciate what you do, Sheila.

  7. Since much of my work is based on actual events, I often find myself wanting others to know about them. I got into a chilling subject in An Altar by the River, but I felt it was a story that needed to ne told.

Leave a Reply

