My Bucket List by Coco Ihle

I’m on the road right now going to writers’ conventions and signings and looking for a Wi Fi hot spot so I can send this.

Many of us have a bucket list of things we want to do, accomplish or experience before we leave this Earth. Some are extraordinary and some are more mundane. Mine have been few and rather simple. I’ve always wanted to find my birth family and part of that goal has been satisfied. I found my sister, Joanie, after searching for more than fifty years, but sadly, I also found a death certificate for my birth father and I assume because of the time element, my birth mother has also died. Somewhere out there is a brother and sister yet to find. The chances of my discovering their whereabouts is slim, but I keep hoping.

Another goal was to write a book about my family search and the discovery of my Scottish roots, and incorporate a murder mystery into the plot. Since I found Joanie, I was able to complete the book, SHE HAD TO KNOW, which was published in April 2011. It is the first in a series, so there is room in the storyline for the discovery of more siblings and/or further development of the sisters’ relationship.

Another item on my bucket list is travel. Having the opportunity to see and experience people and places, art, history and nature different from my own is a passion with me. I’ve been fortunate to have already seen much of Europe, the United States and Canada, but there are still so many more countries to explore. I haven’t been to New Zealand and Australia, Egypt and Jordan, India and China, Peru and the Galapagos Islands. The list could go on and on. I wish I were younger, only because that would give me more time. I know I’ll never be able to see all the things I want, but I’ll certainly try the best I can.

Meanwhile, I’ll continue writing about the adventures in Scotland of my two protagonists, Arran Hart and Sheena Buchanan, as they learn more about each other and the nature of murder. I hope you, dear readers, will follow along with me as we discover what will happen next in Arran’s and Sheena’s adventures.

Do you have items on your bucket list? What sort of things do you wish to discover or accomplish?

14 Comments

Filed under blogging, books, Coco Ihle, fiction, fun, life, musings, Travel, writing

14 responses to “My Bucket List by Coco Ihle

  1. DM

    Oh yes I have a bucket list as well.:-) It adds a richness to my life as well as helps me to focus some of my ideas. I came to your blog by way of your “writing” tag. I’m always looking for suggestions to improve my writing skills.

  2. As I get older the bucket list gets less adventurous, but I’d still like to hike to the bottom of the Grand Canyon, go back to Scotland, visit Orkney again and make it up to Shetland.

  3. Salustra Wallace

    So many people with bucket lists, seems like a good idea, my sister Helen has one that she has made great progress on. Mine is simply to have time to read the next great book! Since there are always so many books I’ll never have to worry about an empty list or the ones I won’t get to only that I’ll have finished the last page!!!!. Can’t wait to see more of Arran Hart and Sheena Buchanan.

  4. My Bucket List is actually called a Finish List. Finish my book, finish my current painting, finish my current sculpture, finish my greenhouse, finish my house, etc, etc, etc. I always eventually end up finishing things but my problem is that I start two more things every time I finish one. I traveled in my work. All of the states, all the Caribbean Islands, Emirates, India, etc. were covered. Now I am retired and just want to finish things and not wander more than a half mile from this spot.

    • Oh, gosh, Art, I have a finish list, too, and like you I’m slowly finishing things I’ve started. I, too, start two for every one completed. Oh, well. Keeps us out of trouble. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Salustra, you have wonderful adventures ahead of you on the written page. I know what you mean by not having much time to read. I have the same probelm. When I get home this coming week, I’ll be off the Scotland to visit with Arran and Sheena again. I’m eager to taste Mrs. Currie’s scones, too. :-) Thanks so much for your comment.

  6. Hi Coco,
    I have 7 more stories to illustrate and would love to visit Scotland, Australia, New Zealand and several islands in Polynesia.

  7. Our bucket list took us to Alaska last fall, so maybe travel is the theme. My own personal bucket list is to finish writing the Hemlock, Love On, Genesis People, Nalya’s Sunset and Divide by Zero series.

    • Wow, Sheila, Alaska and Oregon are the only states I haven’t been to. Photos and guide books indicate how beautiful Alaska is. Maybe one day. As for your writing, go for it!!! You already have a great momentum going. I wish you every success!!! Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. I’m still on the road and finding Internet has been a fun challenge.

  8. Your bucket list involves some important things! I haven’t gotten to creating a bucket list yet, but I do want to see more of the world, although that will not involve jumping out of an airplane, or going on a hot air balloon ride :)

    • I agree with you, Christine, I don’t plan on jumping out of an airplane either, but a hot air balloon ride might be fun. Hope your dreams are realized. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

