Interview With Tony R. Lindsay, Author of Tattletale Roadhouse and Social Club

What is your book about?

Tattletale Roadhouse and Social Club is forty-three humorous vignettes about country boys growing up to become preachers and sinners. The have an abiding appreciation for booze and the opposite sex. You will not read anything else like it.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

A few years ago I told a group of friends at a party about an incident that happened to me while being raised in an ultra conservative, hard-rock Baptist family. They laughed so much that I decided to write the story. It was my first story.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I love it when people laugh at my stories. When a person laughs, their troubles are somewhere else.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

My friends will tell you that there is an awful lot of me in my stories. But I’ll deny it.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite?

Country boys, Homer Guthry and Elwood Hatmaker, are in love with a girl who they have never met. They go to great lengths just to get close to her. Elwood, my favorite, is especially besotted.

Who is your most unusual/most likeable character?

My most likable character is Bluford Nodding. He’s not a complicated man; he’s good to the core. But moonshine releases pent up hormones in a spurt.

How long did it take you to write your book?

I took three years to write my book.

How much of a story do you have in mind before you start writing it?

I usually know where I am going when I start a story. I know how I want it to end.

Did you do any research for the book? If so, how did you do it?

The Internet is a wonderful tool for research. For example, with the story, Wampus Cat Queen, I found lots to read about Wampus Cats.

How do you develop and differentiate your characters?

I use a lot of dialect to differentiate my characters. The words of a city slicker have to be different from a country bootlegger. I try to avoid tags. The reader knows who is talking by the language he uses.

Do you have specific techniques you use to develop the plot and stay on track?

Sometimes it is fun to get a little off track.The writer must make it clear to the reader that the straying is intentional.

How (or when) do you decide that you are finished writing a story?

I like to end a story with something that is ironic, clever and funny. I don’t want the reader to think that I just put the pen down and quit.

What is your goal for the book, ie: what do you want people to take with them after they finish reading the story?

I would love to write a story that students will be reading in school a hundred years from now.

Is there a message in your writing you want readers to grasp?

My book is about humor, but I throw in some philosophical elements from time to time.

What challenges did you face as you wrote this book?

My biggest challenge in writing this book was spelling.

Click here to read the first chapter of:
Tattletale Roadhouse and Social Club
by Tony R. Lindsay

Click here to buy:
Tattletale Roadhouse and Social Club
by Tony R. Lindsay

2 Comments

Filed under Author Interviews, books, fiction, writing

2 responses to “Interview With Tony R. Lindsay, Author of Tattletale Roadhouse and Social Club

  1. Sherrie Hansen

    I will have to read this book – I was raised in a strict Baptist church, too.

  2. Sheila Englehart

    It’s a hoot and a half. It will bring back memories of growing up even if you didn’t live in the South.

Leave a Reply

