Organized Chaos by J J Dare

At any given time, I have one or more stories floating around in my head. The most recent one involves that old saying, “Everything happens for a reason.” While I subscribe to a belief that events are tied together like a spider’s web, I never thought about writing a story about this butterfly effect . . . until now.

A fixed existence in a random universe makes sense to me. Imagine rows upon rows of dominoes, standing on end and branching off on a million different paths which branch off again and again. The endless choices fit the meaning of life, at least to me, better than believing we simply exist in a world of endless chaos.

But, what if . . . and here I go again. The great “What If” is the delight and bane of my writing world. It’s my crack, my addiction and my downfall at times. It’s also my shining spot during a dark day, the friend who holds my hand and the muse who lifts me up.

What if “everything happening” was tied to something more specific than a person? What if randomness was an entity ruling the universe and fixed events was Random’s rebellious brother? What if Fixed was drawn to a few people on Earth and these people became the epicenters of “everything happening?”

All paths of events would lead back to a specific group of people. How would they handle the knowledge that they are the reasons for successes, failures, happiness, grief and so on? How would their own lack of control over events change them? Or, maybe, I’d give them some control. Of course, with too much control, one has the potential to become a despot or Tom Cruise.

So, another inspiration is added to the queue. It’s rough around the edges and needs a bit of spit and polish, but, one day . . .

Where do your stories come from?

J J Dare is the author of two published books, several short stories and triple digit works-in-progress.

Current enthusiasm is sharpening intangible knives and co-authoring at Rubicon Ranch

Facebook addiction

4 Comments

Filed under writing

4 responses to “Organized Chaos by J J Dare

  1. You’re sounding kind of like Joe. By the way, how’s he doing??

  2. Joe’s gotten fat and lazy. I need to bring him out of retirement soon

  3. Sounds like an interesting story. It seems odd to me — you have too many ideas for stories, and I have too few.

  4. A lot to think about and rein in, JJ. But you will!

Leave a Reply

