Dreams, Dreaming and Dreamers

dreams and wishes. 62/365

Dreams – I love them and I have lots of them, but every once in a while there is a dream that makes you stop and wonder.

I had just finished editing a 107,500 word novel. Three weeks of 8 to 12 hour days of editing not to mention 2 1/2 years of writing and editing before I even submitted it to a publisher. As you can imagine, I was tired, but very pleased. I had done my part. I was finished with it for now.

I went to bed that night with a sense of accomplishment. And then I had the dream.

I had this big, white plastic bag. I wasn’t the floppy kind that the wind can blow around but it kept its open shape. It was about 2 1/2 feet wide and six feet long. I was going around collecting all the deletions I had made in the manuscripts and putting them in this bag.

It wasn’t an unpleasant chore, but I had to catch every deleted sentence, paragraph, comma, period, page etc. Some of them were floating in the air, but most of them were in little piles on the ground.

Then I woke up and when I went to the computer my manuscript was missing and in its place was all the deletions that I had just been collecting. I was devastated. It was terrible. I was frantic. And then I woke up for real. It was just a dream. I lay in bed rolling back and forth laughing.

But you know what? After I stopped laughing because I was so happy it was just a dream, I went and checked my computer before I even turned the flame on under he teakettle. There was my manuscript, just the way I left it.

Now, I am not of the opinion that dreams can predict the future, but if my bag of deletions had replaced my manuscript, you can bet your sweat boots, and anything else you have that’s sweet, I would have changed my opinion.

May all your dreams be pleasant and if a bad one sneaks in, it is a liar. Don’t believe it.

11 Comments

Filed under Paul J. Stam, writing

11 responses to “Dreams, Dreaming and Dreamers

  1. I also would have checked after a dream like that. When I edited my first novel I lost a pound for each day during one pass of editing. The very word “edit” makes me queasy.

  2. That is a nightmare. In the beginning stages of my novel, I saved it on scandrive that stopped working when I plugged into the laptop. I thought I’d lost it. Fortunately, I had a friend who was very computer handy and rescued it for me. I’ve made copies ever since. Great post!

  3. Oh horrors! The idea of losing all that work! Don’t think I would have laughed–I would have leapt up to race to the computer to see if my subconscious knew something awful I didn’t. I’ve had a few brushes with that experience, since many of my novels were written so long ago they were originally created on defunct wp programs (Wang PC) and stored on 5 1/4 inch drives–all through the 90′s I was dealing with that. It was a cliff-hanger until I got them all re-saved again. I’m on the 4th go-round of updating with some of them.

    • Juliet, Thanks for your comments. I well remember the Wang PC and 5 1/4 backup disks. My first novel was published 1987 by Avon and was typed out on a clacking Underwood. Ah, yes, the nice clickity-clacking of a manual and the reams of paper ;~}

      All the best and thank you again for commenting.

      Paul Stam 45-705 Kamehameha Hwy. #416 Kaneohe, HI 96744 808.247.7323 paul-808@hawaiiantel.net http://www.paulsbooks.info Books “The Telephone Killer” coming in August from Second Wind Press.

  4. A real horror-story dream!

  5. What a vivid dream, Paul. I did lose 25 pages of my first Winnebago mystery–or about a fourth of the manuscript at the time–and spent a lot of time and money trying to recover them. I couldn’t remember it all in recreating those pages. It was a nightmare!

Leave a Reply

