Interview With Linda Felker, Co-Author of “From Victim to Victory”

What is your book about?

From Victim to Victory is the true story of Regina Lane, a young woman who was kidnapped, raped, and stabbed twelve times, and how she fought for her life against her attacker.  She identified the assailant during the time of the original investigation, and attempted to help the investigators believe that the man that so brutally assaulted her could be the same man that murdered Deborah Sykes.  Instead, they closed her case and proceeded to incarcerate Darryl Hunt for over 19 years until Regina’s information and DNA testing proved him to be innocent.  Her testimony was significant in finding the true murderer and putting him in prison.

How long did it take you to write your book?

From Victim to Victory took over five years to write.  In order to achieve a complete database of testimony, factual accounts, statements, press releases, and inclusive events, we conducted meticulous research and validation.  Writing this book, and incorporating the police investigative reports, eyewitness accounts, victim analysis, and research of Newspaper articles, forced a sequential pattern necessary to give the reader full disclosure.  In addition, after the Sykes Administrative Review Committee findings and report were made public, we were able to validate all the details inclusive in our book, and enhance the unknown aspects in order to arrive at a complete, honest, and accurate accounting of exactly what happened and why.  Although Regina Lane still has many unanswered questions regarding her case, and wants to understand why she was treated so disrespectfully and dismissively, there is enough closure in this book to enable her to move forward with her goal of reaching other victims with the life-saving message of the power of God.

How did you develop the book?

Regina Lane asked to meet with me, and I agreed to the appointment not realizing what she really needed or wanted from me.  She arrived at my home office carrying two loaded suitcases.  When she opened the cases, they were packed full of documentation, books, newspaper articles, police reports, pictures – everything from a backup perspective that would help me as I began to research and help her tell and write her story.  We used a tape recorder, and Regina spoke of her situation, the kidnapping, the attack, and her survival.  Then the true work began.   She transcribed the tapes and sent them to me.  I then wrote the first chapters from those tapes, and sent them back to her.  She edited what I wrote, and sent it back to me.  I wrote other chapters, and edited, and sent it to her.  She changed words and sentences, wrote additional pages and thoughts, and sent it back to me.  And so on and so on, over the course of over five years.  It indeed was a collaboration between two opposite personalities.  That is what makes this book so intense, and real.

What was the first book you wrote?

My first published book was Lessons From the Purple Tree.  This book is a collection of things my Mother said to me when I was a child, and how those comments impacted me as I grew, and influenced the choices I made as an adult.  The book is told from the viewpoint of a child, then vaults to present-day in the business arena where those Lessons learned throughout life intertwine with careers and business life.

What is the best thing about being a writer?

The joys of being an author include being able to help others as they seek to fulfill their goals of publishing their own works. Most memorable was the opportunity I had to mentor a 16-year-old girl as she fulfilled her dream to write a book to the teenage girls on dating.   I am so thankful to be able to use my ability to assist these talented people as they form their own paths.

Where can we learn more about you and From Victim to Victory?

At my page on the Second Wind Website: From Victim to Victory by Regina K. Lane and Linda Felker

Click here to read the first chapter of: From Victim to Victory

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews

Leave a Reply

