Backups and Travel

                I recently attended the production of the musical, Little Women. I am sure you all know the story, Jo is the writer, Meg the romantic, Amy wants the better things in life and Beth is simply content and dies far too young.  All of the characters are wonderful in this much loved story, but being an author myself, I understood where Jo was coming from.  I even felt her pain when Amy burned her manuscript.  There were no backup or flash drives, let alone computers, during the Civil War and once the copy is gone, it is gone forever. My stomach clenched when the younger sister tossed the papers into the imaginary flames.  Perhaps it brings back bad memories of when my hard-drive failed.  I swore I had each chapter and sections copied to a floppy disc (did I just date how long I’ve been writing?).  After I restored my hard drive, I went to load the book back onto the computer.  Five chapters, from the middle of the book, were gone. I still remember they were chapters 19 – 24.  I was sick, sick, sick. I remembered what happened in these chapters, but the exact words I had written were gone forever.

At one point in the story, Aunt March mentions to Jo that she considered taking her to Europe.  Jo believes this is something she needs to do and will do anything, even if it means becoming a poised lady, to go to Europe.  Her theory is that a writer needs to travel to become better.  Rarely do we get to travel to the places we write about, unless you write contemporary stories that take place in your home town.  My novels are historical with settings mainly in England.  Pure is the Heart touches on Paris because it occurs during the French Revolution. However, my heroine, Elise, has escaped France in order to keep her head attached to her neck.  A lot of the inspiration for this novel, and the places I mention, came from my first visit to France four years ago.  Though we are over a century removed from the French Revolution, many of the most amazing places can still be visited and that is exactly what I plan to do again. 

Over spring break I have the opportunity to once again go to France.  This time, I know the story I want to write.  It will be a sequel to Pure is the Heart and take place during one of their most turbulent times in history.  I have the advantage of knowing what I need to find out and which pictures I need to take and what books I may need to purchase.  I can hardly wait to start this adventure and once again absorb the history of Paris, Versailles, Chartres, the cathedrals and the many chateaus in the region.  Of course, that could all change, depending on where my inspiration comes from.  A story in my head doesn’t always turn out the same way on paper, and sometimes our writing takes an entirely new direction due to our life experiences.

With Jo, she wrote “blood and guts” stories.  After Beth died, she could not write a thing.  Her inspiration and desire died along with her sister.  Not until listening to the wise words of her mother, and her own inner reflection, did she pick up her quill and paper once again. This time, however, she wrote a story of four young women, Meg the romantic, Amy with the pout, and sweet, sweet Beth. . .

What about you? Have you ever lost part of all of a manuscript for good? Do you desire to travel anywhere to research your stories and absorb the locations and history?  Or, have you already had the opportunity to travel to some interesting place to enhance your story?  And, have you ever started writing one thing and later switch genre’s because of alterations in your life?

 

 Amy De Trempe is the author of Loving Lydia and Pure is the Heart, coming soon from Second Wind Publishing

3 Comments

Filed under writing

3 responses to “Backups and Travel

  1. Thankfully, I’ve never lost part of a manuscript. Since hubby is a computer consultant, I’m pretty set in the back up department :)

    As for travel, our trip to London 2 years ago was all I needed to get me started on my 2nd WIP. My first WIP took me 9 months to write…we went to London about a month after I finished it and when we got back, I wrote the 2nd one in 7 weeks! I was so inspired by all I saw and learned. I’m looking to go to Scotland next as WIP #4 takes place in the highlands.

    Thankfully, I have over 600 pics and about 4 hours of video from our London trip, so I can go there “virtually” any time I want :)

  2. amydetrempe

    I would love to go to London and travel all over England, but I haven’t gotten the opportunity yet. I do plan on taking a bunch more pictures this time and recording whatever I can.

  3. I had a hard drive crash and lost 1/2 of a manuscript. This was over a year ago. I have tried to revisit that story, but it doesn’t seem as “fresh” or as good as it did the first time around and I’ve been uninspired to finish it.

    Since then, I back up on flash drives all the time. So I’m safe unless my new laptop crashes and I’m so upset I lose my keys (where I keep my drive).

Leave a Reply

