We’re Going to Disney World!

By now I’m sure most of you are aware of the devastating floods in Nashville. It’s really a tragedy, and my heart goes out to all those whose lives have been affected by the devastation.

Romance Writers of America was to hold their annual conference at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel this summer, but unfortunately, the Gaylord has had to cancel everything for at least 90 days, which includes our conference. I had so been looking forward to spending a few days at this hotel-it looked absolutely incredible-and it saddens me that we won’t be able to now.

However, the board of RWA worked incredibly hard at securing a new spot for us in what I would consider record time (especially considering they typically book the sites 8 years in advance!!) And honestly, I couldn’t be more thrilled with the new site…

We’re goin’ to Disney World!!!

As soon as we heard the news, my husband and I started plotting our trip. We’re scheduled to visit friends and family in Atlanta first for a week, and then we’ll be heading to Orlando for the conference, the parks, and a little fun in the sun! Not to mention, the hubby’s mom is in Orlando, so we get to kill two birds with the one stone!

The Swan and Dolphin Resort happens to sit on the property of our all-time favorite Disney Park, Epcot. And that park is tame enough that we can stroll the baby around with us as we drink our way around the world :)

But the most exciting part is that we’ve been talking for a couple of years about how we were going to get to the new Harry Potter World at Universal once it opened. Well, now we know! We’ll be leaving The Princess with Grandma or a babysitting service for the day and heading over to Universal to explore the Wizarding World! We can’t wait!

I know I probably shouldn’t be so excited in the midst of such devastation…and I know, too, that many people won’t be able to attend now, which is very sad. But for me, there is a bright side…I hope there are others who will benefit from the change!

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “We’re Going to Disney World!

  1. What’s been happening up north is tough all around. They didn’t need the tourism hit on top of everything else.
    However, speaking as someone who loves living here, working here, and sharing it all, hey, I love that you’re coming down to the World of the Mouse!
    To help you plan your visit, I invite you to visit my blog, RoriTravel’s Florida. With Walt Disney World at the heart, and Florida as the energy force, we’re all about helping people learn about this awesome travel spot.
    If I may, I’d like to recommend a few friends who also write about WDW. From Amanda’s Disney Every Day to AJ’s Disney Food Blog, I’m betting you find more than enough information for you – and your friends – to make some really cool plans! You’ll find their links, and more, on my blog roll.
    Have a safe and wonderful time.
    Rori
    RoriTravel’s Florida

  2. christinehusom

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

