Summer-time, and the living is sweaty.

Here in Central Virginia, we are experiencing what my grandmother called “three H days” – which means hazy, hot and humid for anyone lucky enough not to live in the Southeast.  I do love summertime but there is a reason why old movies set in the South depict women sitting on the veranda in a cotton slip drinking sweet tea (or something stronger) – they didn’t have air conditioning and it’s too darn hot to do anything else.

It seems like a few weeks ago my sons were eagerly awaiting the end of the school year.  Now, as July is winding down, my oldest realized that it’s only a few more weeks until school starts again.  “It isn’t fair!” he whined to me this morning as I was dragging him (literally) out of bed.  “Summer should be longer.”  As a child, I remember having the same belief.  As an adult, there is nothing about days when the temperature is 85 degrees with 70% humidity before 9:00 a.m. that I wish would linger.  I am ready for the crisp temperatures of fall. 

I have to say the heat wave may do some good things for my waistline because it’s forcing me to bring lunch to work, rather than go out to a restaurant.  It is also encouraging me to eat salads since they are typically cold or at least cool.  Over lunch today, my colleagues and I were chatting about the weather.  It was unanimous that our kids don’t seem to be affected by the heat.  While we parents are setting the air conditioning to Arctic conditions or positioning ourselves in just the right spot beneath the ceiling fans wearing the minimum of clothing to avoid an indecent exposure charge – the kids are running about playing games, riding bikes and generally working up a good sweat.

My kids beat the heat with water.  On the weekends, I fill a cooler thermos with ice and water so we stay hydrated.  There have been a number of water pistol battles waged in our backyard the past few days.  I suspect that this coming weekend will bring more.  We’ve even had a few “ice cube down the shirt or shorts” pranks.  As for me, the kids don’t have to ask twice to go to the pool.

Mairead Walpole is the pen name for a somewhat introverted project and contract manager who has 20+ years of business and technical writing under her belt. In her spare time, Mairead reviews books for Crystal Reviews (www.crystalreviews.com) and writes paranormal romance. Her first novel, “A Love Out of Time” is available through Second Wind Publishing (www.secondwindpublishing.com) or Amazon.com.

3 Comments

Filed under Mairead Wapole, musings, writing

3 responses to “Summer-time, and the living is sweaty.

  1. Could send your kids some water. It keeps raining here.

  2. We in Michigan touched triple digits this week. I told my friends and colleagues in May, when we had a late and chilly and wet spring, and that we’d pay for it come July with hot weather and a drought. I was right. One day of rain the entire month of July and the worst heat wave since 1995, and no end in sight.

    I don’t recall being sensitive to heat and humidity when I was a boy and thought recently it must be my age creeping up on me, that I don’t tolerate heat well. Then I realized it’s not old age, it’s central air conditioning. We never had it when I was growing up, so the body adjusted to it. Today, the only time I spend out in the heat is the time I spend walking to my car in the morning on my way to work and from car to my office, and the reverse at the end of the day. When you spend nearly 24 hours a day in a controlled environment, how can the body adjust to extreme temperatures? It can’t.

  3. A lot of people in Minnesota are ready for winter–that says a lot! As a kid I remember more at night trying to get to sleep, lying in bed waiting for the evening air. But during the day, we ran and played ball, and went swimming to cool off.

Leave a Reply

