Adventures And Culinary Adventures by Pat Bertram

My recent visit to St. Simons Island, GA to speak at the Scribbler’s Retreat Writers’ Conference was my first trip to the south, and I made sure that I immersed myself in the culture (at least as much as one can in a few days). I walked on the beach, climbed the lighthouse, toured a Civil War era cemetery, strolled among live oaks dripping with Spanish moss (which is neither Spanish nor moss but a member of the pineapple family). And ate. She-crab soup. Crab cakes. Shrimp and grits. Red beans and rice. Key lime pie. Fried oysters. Fried green tomatoes. Fried dill pickles. Vidalia onion pie. I was disappointed in the fried green tomatoes and the beans and rice. Both dishes were seasoned heavily with rosemary, which is my least favorite herb. And I was disappointed not to find such haute cousine as fried Twinkies, but I’m sure my stomach thanks me for the oversight.

I also met a woman I considered to be a quintessential fading southern belle. She was still beautiful despite being past her first youth, and hospitable (she took me on a tour of the island on Sunday in the hours between hotel check-out and my flight home). She was also charming, sweet, and . . . from Maine. Just shows one should not assume anything.

Several of my meals were eaten in the company of fellow speakers Phillip Margolin, Chuck Barrett, and Jane Wood, (and Chuck’s delightful wife who taught me that “the store is always open,” meaning that authors always need to be ready to promote themselves. Maybe I’ll even heed her words and carry my bookmarks with me!)

They say that once you’ve had the sand of St. Simons in your shoes, you’ll return. I’m looking forward to it!

The Hotel where I spent Wednesday and Thursday night

My room at the Village Inn

Atlantic Ocean

Pier at St. Simons Island

Civil War Cemetery

Southern Gothic

Fried Green Tomatoes, Fried Oysters, Vidalia Onion Pie, Fried Dill Pickles

***

Pat Bertram is the author of Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. All Bertram’s books are available both in print and in ebook format. You can get them online at Second Wind Publishing, Amazon, B&N and Smashwords.  At Smashwords, the books are available in all ebook formats including palm reading devices, and you can download the first 20-30% free!

8 Comments

Filed under fun, life, Pat Bertram, photographs

8 responses to “Adventures And Culinary Adventures by Pat Bertram

  1. Well Pat, you drank up all you could of the south in just a few days. I have always wanted to try fried green tomatoes. :-)
    It sounds delightful and thank you for sharing.
    Cindy

  2. This sounds like a place to go and soak up the culture. Then relax and breath the fresh air. Thanks for taking us along.

  3. Pat, I really enjoyed your post and it seems the South has won your heart. I’m from NJ, but moved to Alabama and stayed for twenty years. I have a friend who owns a restaurant and she prepares fried green tomatoes “to die for.” They had no rosemary, so I guess, as with many things, it depends where you eat something. Everyone has different recipes. I hope you will try them again if you make another trip to the South. Loved your pictures!

  4. Coco, from New Jersey to Alabama? Talk about culture shock! Maybe someday I’ll be able to try your friend’s fried green tomatoes. I bet they are wonderful.

  5. Beautiful photos, as always. And, the food shot made me hungry!

Leave a Reply

