Trailers For Sale or Rent by J J Dare

I have too many muse-inspired ideas for new books that stay ideas and never develop into writings. Over the past year, these ideas spring forth at least twice a week. It seems such a shame to waste them by letting them sit in bored solitude in a folder on my desktop.

Since I have an abundance of ideas and no true inclination to do anything with them, I’ve decided to find them new homes. I’m trying to figure how best to do this.

1. Ebay is always an option. A while back, a guy attempted to sell his soul online because he “didn’t need it anymore.” If the precious essence of a human can be sold at auction, the skinny beginnings of a book should fare well enough.

2. Donations. I could always donate my ideas to the less fortunate. I’m sure there are a few writers out there who would welcome fresh inspiration and developed characters. Would this be considered a charitable donation? I could use the tax write-off.

3. Craigslist might be a viable solution. Although I’ve never sold anything through this medium before, I know people who have. I’ll have to word the listing carefully since I don’t want any misunderstandings when I try to sell a “middle-aged police detective with a drinking problem, receding hairline and trust issues who leads a double-life as a hitman for the Church.” I will have to make sure it’s clear that this is an idea and not a “services for hire” listing.

4. A Writer’s Stand. Instead of a corner lemonade stand, I could set up a writer’s idea stand and sell my minor characters for cheap. Backgrounds and backstories would be extra, of course. I could sell small, medium or large characters for bargain prices.

5. I could sponsor a contest for a character prize. I’m a veteran sweeper (someone who enters sweepstakes and/or contests on a regular basis). I’ll have to check my state’s laws to make sure it is legal to sell a personality. I live in the South and if my neighbors can sell their snaggle-toothed, gator-wrestling selves to the History Channel, I think I have a shot at selling off excess written entities.

I’ll have to mull on this for a bit and see what solution would work best. Since I’ve never sold or donated an intangible item before, it will be new, exciting territory.

What do you suggest doing with stagnant ideas that have no hope of blossoming under your care? Do you recycle characters, trash them or sell them? Is $5 a good starting price? ;)

Trailers for sale or rent.
Rooms to let, fifty cents.
No phone, no pool, no pets,
I ain’t got no cigarettes.
Ah, but, two hours of pushin’ broom
Buys an eight by twelve four-bit room.
I’m a man of means by no means
King of the road.

© Roger Miller

J J Dare is the author of two published books, several short stories and triple digit works-in-progress.

Current enthusiasm is sharpening intangible knives and co-authoring at Rubicon Ranch

Facebook addiction

5 Comments

Filed under Humor, writing

5 responses to “Trailers For Sale or Rent by J J Dare

  1. Sherrie Hansen

    Cute! Thanks for the smiles.

  2. Very neat! Could be an intriguing tax write-off.

  3. Actually, I could use a few good characters — maybe we can strike a deal.

  4. I was actually thinking about this only the other day – I have about ten outlines sitting on my computer, all roughly chaptered, that will probably never turn into anything. I thought it was a shame they would never get to see light and also wondered whether that was a saleable commodity! I see the sense in it…

Leave a Reply

