When I grow up, I want to be…

My “if money wasn’t an object or issue” career dream has always been to make a living off my writing, but I am a very long way from giving up my day job.  Also, the frequency of my muse taking off for parts unknown sort of puts a large obstacle in the “support my family with the writing” plan.  The secondary but probably most important obstacle is my lack of engagement in marketing my work.

Some of the writers at Second Wind are incredibly talented in marketing their work and it would not surprise me in the least if one or two in particular achieved sales comparable to the best seller’s list purely from their own marketing abilities.  I read their posts or articles and sit back in awe of how they have jumped in and mastered this whole marketing thing.  Me, with a MBA to my credentials, I understand marketing concepts and theory but when it comes to the practice, I just can’t seem to either find the time, the inclination or both to put myself out there.  The biggest part of this inability stems from being an introvert.  There are those who may argue that I am a borderline extrovert, but I assure you that any hints of extroversion in my personality are totally learned behaviors.

I thought for a time that the use of social media (Facebook, MySpace, Twitter, etc.) might be the way to go but, as I use social media, I find it as draining as being at a large cocktail party or work related social function.  I have to admit that the thought of becoming active on Twitter makes me want to retreat into a cave somewhere in the wilderness far from any Wi-Fi, WiMAX or LTE connection.  Not from fear or a resistance to the concept and technology – I am fascinated by the whole sociologic aspect of it as a medium to convey information, news, or entertainment and from the business perspective – its value as a marketing tool has just begun to be tapped to the fullest potential.  The problem for me is the mass interaction thing and potentially millions of people connected to me in some form or fashion that makes my skin crawl.  If you’re an introvert – you know what I am talking about.  If you aren’t, you probably think I’m nuts.

So what is an introvert to do?  How does one overcome the psychological aspects of introversion to get out there and self-market?

Mairead Walpole is the pen name for a somewhat introverted project and contract manager who has 20+ years of business and technical writing under her belt. In her spare time, Mairead writes paranormal romance among other genres. Her first novel, “A Love Out of Time” is available through Second Wind Publishing (www.secondwindpublishing.com) or Amazon.com.

5 Comments

Filed under Mairead Wapole, marketing, writing

5 responses to “When I grow up, I want to be…

  1. I can be very outgoing in person, unless I don’t know people very well. I have days. Overall, I’m an extrovert, but I can related to what you are saying. I do not have a Twitter account. To keep up with my projects, my son, a blog, our home and a Facebook account, I don’t touch as much as compared to when I was in college, is a lot. I think it is okay not to jump on the technology background. It will change in a few years anyways to an entire new thing we have to learn. I enjoyed your post!

  2. Sherrie Hansen

    A good observation, Mairead, and I feel for you and others who don’t feel comfortable with social networking. (Except my sister, Becky, who refuses to get on Facebook, not because she is an introvert, but because she is stubborn.) :-) I have mixed feelings about the whole thing, and fear I will turn off more people that I will reach if I am too pushy or over-promote.

  3. I know exactly what you mean. I have just received word from Mike that a contract is on the way, which is exciting, but how the hell one pushed it on FB, or Twitter et al, is beyond me so I start by commenting to your blog.

  4. Social media is fascinating, but I’m not sure those potential millions will ever find me, or my books, in the social haystack.

  5. Actually, social networking is the perfect tool for introverts. Extroverts are out in the real world talking to real people, but we introverts sit alone at our computers, making comments to people who may or may not exist. Even better, we can double check our words, make sure that what we say is what we want to say, come up with a clever comment (or not), before we gingerly press “enter.” (Not something you can do in real life!) And one person out of all those potential millions might pay attention. But . . . and this is the beauty of social networking . . . they only see what you want them to see. People complain about privacy issues on facebook, but if you only post things you want people to see, it works to your advantage.

Leave a Reply

