Interview With Jerrica Knight-Catania, Author of More Than a Governess

What is your book about?

It’s about two people, who probably shouldn’t fall in love, falling in love. It’s about facing your demons, both internal and external. It’s about finding closure, finding happiness and finding love.

How long had the idea of your book been developing before you began to write the story?

More than a Governess was about 10 days in the making. They were the 10 days I spent in London a few years ago, and by the time I got home, I was itching to write so badly that it only took me about 6 weeks to complete the book.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

A combination of things. Like I said before, 10 days in London had me itching to write. And I was inspired by my own life and the many years I spent taking care of children. Much to most people’s surprise, I was not inspired by Jane Eyre. I had no idea what Jane Eyre was about until about two years after I’d written More than a Governess.

How much of yourself is hidden in the characters in the book?

There’s always a little of me in every heroine. Becky reflects my maternal side. I’ve taken care of children since I was about 11-years-old, so writing about a governess and her two wards came somewhat naturally.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Who was your favorite?

In this book, I would have to say that Lydia, the little girl, is my favorite. She has an imaginary friend, and she will only speak to that imaginary friend, so conversations with her could get frustrating for the other characters, especially the hero. I was quite amused.

How (or when) do you decide that you are finished writing a story?

This is a funny thing for me. I typically get one or two chapters from the end and have no idea how the book is going to end. Sometimes I’ll toil for days, or even weeks, trying to figure it out. But ultimately, it comes to me in a dream or in that half awake/half asleep state in the morning. Once that happens, I can usually bang out the ending in a couple days, and then I know I’m done!

What’s your writing schedule like? Do you strive for a certain amount of words each day?

I used to have a writing schedule. I had an evening job answering phones for several years, and that’s where I wrote most of my books. Those 15 hours/week were like gold. But then I had a baby, and I’m lucky to get 10 minutes to myself these days where I’m not doing dishes or picking up toys or brushing my teeth.

What do you like to read?

I mainly stick to Regency Romance, but I also love chicklit. Sophie Kinsella has been a huge influence in my writing – maybe a little too much. I get a lot of feedback on my historicals that I would make a good chicklit writer. I love YA paranormal as well: Twilight, Evernight, and Harry Potter are among my favorite series.

How have you marketed and promoted your work?

I’m big into social networking. Facebook, Twitter, blogging – I’ve found these methods to be far more effective than book signings and mailers.

Where can people learn more about your books?

My website is fairly up to date now, and I also blog a few times a month. www.jerricasplace.com and http://romancingthebook.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.