A COMEDY of ERRORS by Coco Ihle

You know how some people are just “funny” accident prone? Well, my son, Rob, is one of those people, but only when he is at my house. I’ve never been able to figure out why, but because of this affliction, we’ve had lots of laughs, and sometimes the mention of a single word will bring forth gales of laughter from both of us.

One such example happened several years ago, but the mere mention of it reforms the images in our minds and sets the giggles into action. And my son has a great way of recounting the story of how it happened. It was dinner time and we were having hot dogs. Rob was helping me by setting the table and bringing out the condiments. I opened the refrigerator door and grabbed the plastic yellow mustard container and proceeded to give it a good shake so the mustard would come out nice and thick instead of runny.

When I looked up, Rob was standing on the outside of the refrigerator door waiting to get in to get the milk when I suddenly realized someone hadn’t completely closed the top on the mustard container the last time we used it and there were continuous yellow stripes up and down my son’s face and one large glob that was slowly dripping from the end of his nose. I absolutely lost it! I tried really hard not to, but the deadpan expression on Rob’s face as he looked at me, left me completely unhinged. I couldn’t say a word. I couldn’t breathe. Tears blinded my vision. A tiny little squeak was coming from my lungs, but I thought I’d never get my breath back and my midsection was hurting so bad. Of, course, that set Rob off, and it was fifteen minutes before the two of us were able to peel ourselves off the floor and breath normally again.

The latest incident was a few weeks ago when my soon to be daughter-in-law, Florence, and Rob came to spend the weekend with me. I had transferred freshly brewed coffee to a thermos pump pot after it was ready and Florence and I were sitting outside on the patio enjoying the morning and our first cups when Rob came out to say hello. I told him the coffee was ready and he went back inside to get himself a cup. Several minutes went by and he didn’t return. Florence and I wondered what was keeping him and I was just about to get up and go inside when here he came. He had that famous deadpan expression on his face again, so I asked what happened. He said he held his cup under the pump pot’s spigot and was pumping the coffee into his cup when his hand accidentally knocked down a wall-mounted mixer whisk that was behind the pump pot and that startled him so he spilled the steaming hot coffee all over the counter, his hand and floor and when he opened the cabinet underneath the sink to reach the paper towels, he grabbed one and yanked and the roll took off like he was rolling out a red carpet. By the time he got the coffee spill cleaned up and the paper towels re-rolled, he said he was ready to go back to bed. He was kidding, but by that time, Florence and I were in tears and gripping our sides, and Rob joined in.

We all agreed it was nice to start a day off with laughter. Hope you have days like that, too!

 

Coco Ihle is the author of SHE HAD TO KNOW, an atmospheric traditional mystery set mainly in Scotland.

Join her here each 11th of the month.

16 Comments

Filed under Humor, musings

16 responses to “A COMEDY of ERRORS by Coco Ihle

  1. My dad had a great sense of humor, which he kept until the very end (he died last Tuesday). When my family gathered at the funeral home to make the arrangements, I was thankful to fine that my youngest brother was in full comedy mode and kept us laughing instead of crying. I don’t think it was disrespectful because it was all so Dad. He would have loved it.

  2. Eileen

    Great stories. Laughter really is the best medicine!

  3. Thank you for starting my day off with laughter too.

  4. Renée Latty

    Laughter is indeed a wonderful medicine. Exactly why I decided to became a professional clown. To see all the happy faces makes me also laugh along with others!

  5. Renee Latty

    Yes, indeed, laughter is wonderful medicine! That is the reason I decided to become a professional clown……. to entertain, make people laugh and be able to laugh along with them!!

    • I can remember seeing some fabulous photos of you as a clown, Renee, and I can just imagine all the joy you have brought so many people throughout the years. Good for you!!! Keep up the good work!

  6. Diana Bell

    Enjoyed this so much Coco. This sounds like the Bell Family. We all need a good laugh sometimes especially with our family.

    • So glad you enjoyed my blog post, Diana. You’ll have to tell me about some of the crazy things your family has laughed about. Can’t wait to hear! Thanks for your comment.

  7. Susan Coggins

    Laughter is the best medicine. Some of the best laughter is rehashed at family holiday dinners. They get funnier every year.

  8. Pat Gordon

    Rob is a delight to be around. Everyone needs a Rob to begin our day on a cheerful note.
    Pat

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.